A hidden regulator of neuromodulation and motor learning: Protein synthesis by the integrated stress response (ISR)
Nicole Calakos, M.D., Ph.D. is a physician-scientist who cares for patients with Movement Disorders and maintains an active laboratory research program. Dr. Calakos is the Lincoln Financial Group Professor of Neurology and Neurobiology and Chief of the Movement Disorders section in Neurology at Duke University Medical Center. Her laboratory studies how synaptic plasticity generates learning and adaptive behavior; and how its disruption causes diseases of the basal ganglia circuitry. The Calakos lab is widely recognized for its contributions to understanding habit formation, compulsive behavior and dystonia and for the generation of new methodologies to study basal ganglia physiology.
Dr. Calakos received her bachelor’s degree from the University of California at Berkeley, her M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University, and residency training in Neurology at the University of California at San Francisco.
Dr. Calakos’ contributions have been recognised through a number of awards, leadership and service opportunities. Dr. Calakos advocates for basic and translational neuroscience through activities that have included: the Board of Directors for the American Neurological Association, Governance Committee for the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences, NIH study sections, and scientific advisory boards for Tourette’s Syndrome and Dystonia.
Date: 18 May 2022, 14:00 (Wednesday, 4th week, Trinity 2022)
Venue: This seminar will be held online. Please email opdc.administrator@dpag.ox.ac.uk for more details.
Speaker: Dr Nicole Calakos (Dept. of Neurology, Duke University, School of Medicine)
Organising department: Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG)
Organiser: Lorraine Dyson (University of Oxford)
Host: Professor Richard Wade-Martins (Professor of Molecular Neuroscience, University of Oxford)
Part of: OPDC Seminar Series (DPAG)
Booking required?: Not required
Audience: Members of the University only
Editor: Lorraine Dyson