Anne McLaren Lecture: Women in Science Research and Policy

This year we are delighted to have an outstanding panel of four women academics who will discuss various aspects of women in science and public policy.

Anne McLaren was a leading stem-cell scientist who in the 1950s performed the world’s first IVF birth using mice – work which helped lead to human in vitro fertilisation. She later went on to influence public policy around IVF, serving on the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority. She received many honours for her contributions to science and became the first woman Officer of the Royal Society (as Foreign Secretary and Vice President). Anne was a Trustee of the Oxford International Biomedical Centre, which commissioned this event.

Professor Sarah Franklin holds the Chair in Sociology at the University of Cambridge. She established the Reproductive Sociology Research Group (ReproSoc), a leading research centre in reproductive studies. Professor Franklin is Chair of the Anne McLaren Trust.

Professor Emily Jackson is a Professor of Law at the LSE. She is a member of the British Medical Association Medical Ethics Committee, and until 2012 was Deputy Chair of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority.

Professor Susan Michie is Professor of Health Psychology and Director of the Centre for Behavioural Change at UCL. She is Chair of the WHO’s Behavioural Insights and Sciences Technical Advisory Group.

Professor Dorothy Bishop FRS is Emeritus Professor of Developmental Neuropsychology and Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow at the Department of Experimental Psychology at the University of Oxford.

Panel Chair:
Dr Helena Rodriguez Caro is a postdoctoral research scientist in the Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, and a Junior Research Fellow at Kellogg College, University of Oxford.

The talk will be introduced by Kellogg President, Prof Jonathan Michie and Dr Charles Pasternak, President of OIBC.