Early Modern Italian World Seminar

This interdisciplinary seminar will host papers and discussions about any aspect of Italian culture and society in the period 1400-1800. We are keen to range across the Italian peninsula including, as the title implies, Italian communities, cultures and connections outside Italy in the Mediterranean, Europe and the rest of the world. The seminar is open to all post-holders, early career researchers, doctoral and masters students, and interested undergraduates, especially those considering graduate studies.

Convenors: Filippo de Vivo (St Edmund Hall), Federica Gigante (History of Science Museum); Giuseppe Marcocci (Exeter): Leah Clark (Continuing Education); Jane Stevens (Brookes); Emanuela Vai (Worcester).

The seminar is funded by the Faculty of History and St Edmund Hall, Oxford. We meet four times a term on Tuesdays in odd weeks of the Oxford University Term at 16:30 in the Old Dining Hall, St Edmund Hall, Queens Lane (unless otherwise specified).

The seminar is open to the public. To get updates about the seminar, please write to mailto:earlymodernitaly@history.ox.ac.uk

Tuesday 26 April 2022 (1st Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 10 May 2022 (3rd Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 24 May 2022 (5th Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 7 June 2022 (7th Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 11 October 2022 (1st Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 25 October 2022 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 8 November 2022 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 22 November 2022 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 17 January 2023 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 31 January 2023 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 14 February 2023 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 28 February 2023 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 23 May 2023 (5th Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 6 June 2023 (7th Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 10 October 2023 (1st Week, Michaelmas Term)

Monday 23 October 2023 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 7 November 2023 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 21 November 2023 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 16 January 2024 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Wednesday 24 January 2024 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 30 January 2024 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 13 February 2024 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 27 February 2024 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

This series features in the following public collections: