The James Ford Lectures - After the Black Death: Society, economy and the law in fourteenth-century England

As the single greatest catastrophe in recorded history, the Black Death of 1348-9 continues to grip both the popular and scholarly imagination. This series of six lectures reassesses the main social, economic, legal and cultural responses to the great mortality during the second half of the fourteenth century and explores how they were shaped by the prevailing institutional framework—the rules, laws and belief systems—regulating social and economic behaviour in England.

Friday 20 January 2017 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 27 January 2017 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 3 February 2017 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 10 February 2017 (4th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 17 February 2017 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 24 February 2017 (6th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 19 January 2018 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 26 January 2018 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 2 February 2018 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 9 February 2018 (4th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 16 February 2018 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 23 February 2018 (6th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 18 January 2019 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 25 January 2019 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 1 February 2019 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 8 February 2019 (4th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 15 February 2019 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Friday 22 February 2019 (6th Week, Hilary Term)

This series features in the following public collections: