IR Research Colloquium

The Colloquium provides a forum where doctoral students, post-docs, visitors and faculty can present their work; where we can discuss shared theoretical and analytical issues; and where people with diverse theoretical approaches and commitments within IR can come together. It also provides doctoral students with the opportunity to discuss shared theoretical and analytical issues within the broader Oxford IR community. The presented papers and the discussants’ comments form the basis both for discussing how advanced research may best be carried out and for talking about more practical issues — such as how to act as a discussant, how to turn a thesis into a journal article, how to think about publication, how to organize conference panels.

The format is as follows: a pre-circulated paper sent to participants one week in advance; a 15-20 minute presentation by the author speaking to the main arguments of the paper and/or the broader research project of which it forms a part; a 10-15 minute response from a graduate student or post-doc discussant; and finally an open Q&A. Those interested in receiving the papers and attending the colloquium should contact Andrew Melling. And please also contact him by noon on the Tuesday of each week if you would like a sandwich.

The Colloquium is open to all graduate students in Politics and International Relations. Papers will mostly relate to academic International Relations but the Colloquium seeks to draw in those working on the borders of Politics and International Relations and to encourage a pluralist approach in terms of methods and forms of analysis, including from within closely related disciplines and subject area.

Thursday 1 February 2018 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 8 February 2018 (4th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 15 February 2018 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 22 February 2018 (6th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 1 March 2018 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 8 March 2018 (8th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 26 April 2018 (1st Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 3 May 2018 (2nd Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 17 May 2018 (4th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 24 May 2018 (5th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 31 May 2018 (6th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 7 June 2018 (7th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 14 June 2018 (8th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 11 October 2018 (1st Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 18 October 2018 (2nd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 25 October 2018 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 1 November 2018 (4th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 8 November 2018 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 15 November 2018 (6th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 22 November 2018 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 29 November 2018 (8th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 17 January 2019 (1st Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 24 January 2019 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 31 January 2019 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 7 February 2019 (4th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 14 February 2019 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 21 February 2019 (6th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 28 February 2019 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 7 March 2019 (8th Week, Hilary Term)

Thursday 2 May 2019 (1st Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 9 May 2019 (2nd Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 16 May 2019 (3rd Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 23 May 2019 (4th Week, Trinity Term)

Thursday 17 October 2019 (1st Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 24 October 2019 (2nd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 31 October 2019 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 7 November 2019 (4th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 14 November 2019 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 21 November 2019 (6th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 28 November 2019 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Thursday 5 December 2019 (8th Week, Michaelmas Term)

This series features in the following public collections: