Oxford Minds from the Social Sciences Division

Oxford is built on people, and the way they engage with pressing global issues within and across disciplines. People matter more than ever. This new series will convene the great minds of Oxford and beyond to discuss the issues that matter to our graduate students. It aims to provide all our graduates with an educational experience that transcends disciplinary boundaries. Serving as a graduate enrichment programme during extraordinary times, Oxford Minds is based upon three eight-week pillars: themes, theory and methods. The series will unfold on a fortnightly cycle. Four times per terms, a globally recognised speaker will give a public lecture on a specific topic. In each subsequent week, this will be followed by both an inter-disciplinary panel discussion and small, interactive discussion groups jointly facilitated by Oxford doctoral students enrolled in a new teaching mentorship programme. Our overarching goal is to create an interdisciplinary space in which we can collectively rethink social science for a changing world.

Tuesday 20 October 2020 (2nd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 27 October 2020 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Wednesday 28 October 2020 (3rd Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 3 November 2020 (4th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 10 November 2020 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Wednesday 11 November 2020 (5th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 17 November 2020 (6th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 24 November 2020 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Wednesday 25 November 2020 (7th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 1 December 2020 (8th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 8 December 2020 (9th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Wednesday 9 December 2020 (9th Week, Michaelmas Term)

Tuesday 26 January 2021 (2nd Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 2 February 2021 (3rd Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 16 February 2021 (5th Week, Hilary Term)

Monday 1 March 2021 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 2 March 2021 (7th Week, Hilary Term)

Wednesday 10 March 2021 (8th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 16 March 2021 (9th Week, Hilary Term)

Tuesday 27 April 2021 (1st Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 4 May 2021 (2nd Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 11 May 2021 (3rd Week, Trinity Term)

Tuesday 18 May 2021 (4th Week, Trinity Term)

This series features in the following public collections: